LIVES. Art Brut et parcours de vie

10.06.2022 - 27.11.2022

Collection de l'Art Brut
LIVES affiche F4
LIVES affiche F4

The artists in the exhibition LIVES: Art Brut and Life Courses have in common the creation of all or most of their works at an advanced age. Following an upheaval in their lives, such as a change of social status or place of residence, they seized a creative liberty free of any technical or theoretical background.. Their artistic practice bears witness to a daily commitment going back several years for some and several decades for others. Paintings, photographs, writings, sculptures, assemblages and drawings reveal the singular aesthetic universes they have developed.

The result of an exemplary collaboration between the Swiss Centre for Expertise in Life Course Research (LIVES Centre) and the Collection de l'Art Brut, LIVES: Art Brut and Life Courses presents seven artists who also share the fact that they lived in Switzerland: Eugénie Nogarède (1882–1951), Gaston Teuscher (1903–1986), Anna Kahmann (1905–1995), Eugenio Santoro (1920–2006), Hans Krüsi (1920–1995), Benjamin Bonjour (1917–2000) and Madeleine Lanz (1936–2014). This partnership has made possible an exhibition project that takes into account the general context of their creative process and the social characteristics on which the notion of Art Brut is partly based.

The Swiss Centre for Expertise in Life Course Research (LIVES Centre) opened in January 2011. For its studies and comparisons of individual trajectories and the hazards and vulnerabilities they are subject to, it works closely with researchers in psychology, sociology, social psychology, socio-economics and demography, from the universities of Lausanne, Geneva, Bern, Fribourg and Zurich, as well as the University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Western Switzerland.

Curator: Pauline Mack, assistant curator at the Collection de l'Art Brut

LIVES. Art Brut et parcours de vie

10.06.2022 - 27.11.2022

Collection de l'Art Brut
LIVES affiche F4
LIVES affiche F4

Les créateurs et créatrices de l’exposition LIVES. Art Brut et parcours de vie ont en commun d’avoir réalisé la totalité ou une grande partie de leurs œuvres à un âge avancé. Suite à un bouleversement dans leur existence, un changement de statut social ou de lieu de vie, elles-ils ont pris la liberté de créer, sans connaissance technique ni théorique. Leur pratique artistique témoigne d’un travail assidu et quotidien se déployant sur quelques années pour certain-e-s et plusieurs décennies pour d'autres. Peintures, photographies, écrits, sculptures, assemblages et dessins révèlent les univers esthétiques singuliers qu’elles-ils ont élaborés.

Issue d’une collaboration inédite entre la Collection de l’Art Brut et le Centre suisse de compétence en recherche sur les parcours de vie et les vulnérabilités (Centre LIVES), l’exposition LIVES. Art Brut et parcours de vie présente sept auteur-es des collections du musée lausannois : Eugénie Nogarède (1882-1951), Gaston Teuscher (1903-1986), Anna Kahmann (1905-1995), Benjamin Bonjour (1917-2000), Hans Krüsi (1920-1995), Eugenio Santoro (1920-2006) et Madeleine Lanz (1936-2014). Ce partenariat a permis d’imaginer un projet d’exposition prenant en compte le contexte général de leur démarche créatrice et les caractéristiques sociales sur lesquelles repose en partie la notion d’Art Brut.

 

Le Centre LIVES, Centre suisse de compétence en recherche sur les parcours de vie et les vulnérabilités, a commencé ses activités en janvier 2011. Il étudie et compare les trajectoires individuelles à la lumière des aléas et des vulnérabilités qui les jalonnent. Il fait appel à une coopération étroite de chercheuses et chercheurs en psychologie, sociologie, psychologie sociale, socioéconomie et démographie, rattaché-es notamment aux Universités de Lausanne, Genève, Berne, Fribourg, Zurich, ainsi qu’à la Haute École pécialisée de Suisse Occidentale.

Commissariat: Pauline Mack, assistante-conservatrice à la Collection de l'Art Brut